January One

Dear Zonk,

I actually came here to give you a Red Flags report, but it feels wrong to ignore the rest of the year on January One. So, here it is. A random and highly subjective evaluation of 2016.

  1. I failed at all my resolutions . In fact, I don’t think I even remember most of them. I spent an entire evening last Jan putting resolutions on an Excel sheet with Rahul. I got excited. I went overboard. We both did. Of course we failed! (Okay to be fair, I failed way worse than he did.)

    But here’s the thing: I think resolutions are nice. I’ll make some again this year. But I also think it’s unrealistic to expect to do too much. I’ll make a more detailed post about this later, but for the short term, I think my Red Flags fixes make for good resolutions. Unplug the internet. Go home on time. Do something that counts for 10 minutes everyday. Work out thrice a week. Eat more real food. Sleep more hours.

    Just this much is hard enough to do. And a little can go a long way.

  2. I moved from a tiny team to a not-so-tiny team. In terms of work, of course. And it’s nice enough, but it made me realise, again, that I fit best in tiny places.
  3. I finally finished The House Project. I can keep making it better, but I love every room of my house now. I love almost every object I’ve put in it. I love coming home at the end of every day. Fun fact: I stopped talking in my sleep once my bedroom was redone.
    Spaces affect us in more ways than we think.
  4. I did my first long trip, my first international trip, and my first real break from work in forever. And it changed everything, in so many fucking ways. I wish I could tell you more, Zonk, but now is not the time. I have a lot to figure out first!
  5. I said yes. This time next year, I’ll mostly be married. And I think it’ll be a pretty epic ever after. It’s surprising how quickly excitement replaces worry sometimes.
  6. I kind of figured what I want. In life. It’s a lot of work but at least I know what I’m working towards.
  7. I made no music. At all. I think the last song I wrote was written in 2015. I went a whole year without writing a single fucking song, Zonk. That’s alarming and horrible and I better fix this soon, before I turn into a person who can’t  write songs at all. Because let’s face it – my guitaring has always been mediocre, my voice has always sucked. Songwriting was my only real ability. I can’t let that die.

I hope I’m not leaving anything out. And I really hope I haven’t made too many typos in here, because I’m too sleepy to proofread and edit now.

I hope 2017 blows your mind, Zonk. I hope you completely kill it.

Love always,
K.

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

1 thought on “January One”

  1. I think I succeeded pretty well at my resolutions. I think for me it was a lot about trying to do them and learning from that and I think I tried pretty well with most of them. I think I’m also the kind of person that’s happy finishing around 70% of what I set out to do.

    I think my fix for this year is to set shorter, simpler goals that add up to the big ones. I know that I tried much harder to get things from November onward last year.

    Happy 2017!

Leave a Reply

