Study: Dreaming

Edit: I found out today that I’d posted this on the wrong blog. The post dates back to sometime last week. Just pretend you went back in time a little while you’re reading.

—-

Dear Zonk,

I stayed home yesterday because I was sort of sick. Probably the exhausted kind of sick. Or probably the old deficiencies again. Anyway, I painted some.

Please ignore the weirdness of the photos. I’m too lazy to really edit anything and also I suck at taking good pictures.

image

image

Note: this artwork is more about emotion than accuracy. Just saying.

I love paint, Zonk. I love how forgiving it is. And on some days (not all) I love that there is no Ctrl+Z.
So many mistakes get made. And so many of those end up being beautiful anyway.

I plan to make more studies in three like this one. Same subject, same pose, three angles. This one is a study of Dreaming. Not sleeping dreaming. More a contented, lost in thought sort of daydreaming.

But I need to get better at drawing figures first. Because my figures only emote properly the side.

Also, please note how not unhappy/angsty this artwork is. I realised recently that my art stopped burying its head in the ground a while ago. That’s a very good thing.

Ps. I wrote this post on my phone at 6.30am and I’m not about to edit it. Ignore any typo you may find.

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

1 thought on “Study: Dreaming”

Leave a Reply

