You Only Turn 26 Once

Dear Zonk,

I never thought I’d turn 26. But I did. And it was awesome.

I’ve been writing a long and serious post for days now, about growing up and growing older and pictures and pixels and being in the wrong place, but it doesn’t seem to fit my mood anymore. I’m happy, Zonk. This was easily one of the best birthdays yet (which is saying something, because I always have awesome birthdays.) I got a lot of lovely things. Cake face. A new everyday ring. Pajamas and socks and sweaters and Urban Ladder vouchers and a mystery gift that I must travel in time and space to reach and a telescope and a ukulele named Yuki Potato. It’s nice to have a ukulele, Zonk. It’s small and it’s simple and it always sounds sweet. And if you think about it, that’s all an instrument really needs to be.

My birthday happened on an inconvenient day bang in the middle of the week. And everyone still turned up and everything was perfect and simple and nice.

I feel richer today by far.

Love always,
K.

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

Leave a Reply

