The Birthday List

Edit: I have complaints about this list being too short. So I’ve added 2 more things to it. Let me know if you want to get me anything from this and I’ll cancel it out.

The wishlist comes late this year.
Thing is, it didn’t occur to me that my birthday is next week. I like birthdays, Zonk. I like the anticipation and the waiting and the opening of gifts. I like cake. I like feeling special for a day.

And yet, somehow, I almost sort of forgot. I suppose it has something to do with turning 26. Time must feel so much more finite on the other side of 25. And numbers begin to mean sad and scary things.

I might be more enthusiastic about all of this tomorrow. Today, I am tired and morose and I really need to sleep. But I worked hard on my list and I’m happy with how it turned out.

And so, here it is.

A list of things I want and (perhaps) need –

Winnie the Pooh! The book. Not a stuffed bear.

Jeans

A backpack. Smallish and light. Dark on the outside and bright on the inside. Many compartments. I need to be present for this purchase because backpacks are important and hard to get right.

Forgive me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Magnetic poetry. Because I have steel cupboards now and I think they need some poetry.

Magnets. Brightly coloured wooden ones. Matte finish, maybe.

Calvin and Hobbes pajamas.

Any nice book. These days I’m reading young adult and books about mediocre or broken people and everyday things. I’m not sure how to explain. Maybe my Goodreads activity would help.

An XKCD Book. I think there are two out there.

A book by Shayne Koyczan. Because I’ve never come across writing that gives me goosebumps so unfailingly.

That’s all for now. And I’m sorry not to have made a proper bulleted list. But I write most of this on the bus and the WordPress phone app has no lists. What a terrible oversight.

Love always,
K.

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

2 thoughts on “The Birthday List”

Leave a Reply

