Of growing up and quiet rooms.

Dear Zonk,

I was planning to post a List Of Updates From My Life here today, but I’m just not in the mood to do it. I’m tired, but in a good way; and my mind feels like a quiet room where you go to spend Saturday afternoons in peace and untalking. Like a library full of old books with a window and an armchair and pillows on the floor. Or a bed with many blankets on it, and a laptop and familiar sitcoms. And soup. Or maggi. And socks. But now I’m clearly just naming all of my favourite things. I’ll stop.

Anyway, Zonk, here’s something that’s not just a random update-

I feel older these days. In an oddly comforting I-can-do-this sort of way. A woah-so-I’m-an-adult-afterall sort of way. It’s been a long time coming but it’s here, and the weird thing is, it feels sort of nice.

I guess I never really believed I had it in me to be a grown up.  Not that I’ve done anything too grown up yet, but I will. Soon.

In the spirit of this post, here’s a song for you to listen to, if you haven’t heard it already. It’s exuberant and doomful and awesome all at once. I love Dan Mangan, and he deserves to be a whole lot more famous.

Love always,
K.

 

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

4 thoughts on “Of growing up and quiet rooms.”

  1. Our favourite things are quite similar. Could relate to all of them actually, word for word.
    Also, I loved the song. :) Is this the same guy from your desktop wallpaper?

  2. Holy goodness! The song is lovely. And the lyrics are way too beautiful <3
    Is this the same guy who sang Requiem for a dream? I've heard that before.
    Thank you for posting this here. *bookmarked* :)

    1. Nope :) I think Requiem was Clint Mansell, and he composed it. I don’t think there is a version with words to it, just music. This is Shane Koyczan. He’s a Canadian poet and spoken word artist and he’s BRILLIANT!

Leave a Reply

