You should read this book.

It’s called Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality (HPMOR), and you can read it online or download it here. You’re probably thinking you’re too old for Harry Potter, but you’re wrong. Because firstly, nobody is ever too old for Harry Potter. And secondly, reading HPMOR is not entirely the same as reading HP.

I put that link in the first sentence so you would click on it and go check out the book immediately. Seeing as you haven’t done that yet, I’ll throw in a list about Why You Should Read This Book.

Why You Should Read This Book

  1. HPMOR is set in an alternate universe where Petunia married a professor of Biochemistry instead of Vernon Dursley, and Harry is their only and muchly beloved child. He is also a prodigy and knows a Lot about Math, Science and Sci-Fi. The point is, Harry is a geek. And geeks rule. And this book also rules, on several levels.
  2. Harry is also a rationalist. And when he discovers that magic exists and defies most of the laws of physics, he takes a rational approach to learning magic. His big ambition is to combine Science and magic to rule the world. In a very non-Voldemort way. (Note: I just used the word ‘magic’ thrice in the last two sentences. I am aware of it. It makes me feel uncomfortable, but oh well.)
  3. Remember how in the original series, most people are afraid to say Voldemort’s name? In this version, some people call him ‘Voldy’.
  4. HPMOR doesn’t ignore the Muggle angle. It explores it and exploits it.
  5. Characters in HPMOR are better developed, and grayer (characters in HP, on the other hand, are mostly black or white, except for Snape and Dumbledore, toward the end of the series.) Snape is smarter and more bitter and his wounds are more visible. Moody is more hardcore. Dumbledore is more crazy. Draco isn’t just the spoiled son of an evil man. And Harry isn’t a clueless, reluctant tragic hero. Things don’t happen to him. He makes them happen. You cannot identify with him, and it’s not as easy to like him. But he’s definitely very, very interesting.
  6. In HPMOR, 11 year old witches and wizards actually behave like children. They are silly and petty and immature without being stupid. Which is pretty awesome.
  7. Time Turners play a huge role. Which is only fair because, you know, they are fucking Time Turners.
  8. Apparently, all the science in this book is real. I don’t know or understand much science. I studied Literature in college. But I sure as hell am fascinated by it. Also, if you’re reading this post, you’re most likely some form of geek. Because I’ve gone over my List Of Regular Readers and it seems to me that at least 90% of Zonks are geeks. Which is pretty cool. And which means that there’s a good chance you’ll like this book if you try it.

Just so you know: I’m not saying I like this more than the original series. I love the original series. But I love this too. It’s not really comparable. HPMOR is a lot less serious, and a lot more fun, and it’ll tickle you more. Except for one horrible incident, but I will say no more.

Also, this is a fanfic, and it’s WIP. So when you finish what there is of it (which is a sizable amount) you might want to go over to the HPMOR subreddit to fill the void while you wait for the next chapter. It’s a fun place. But it’s full of spoilers.

I have typed a lot to convince you. So please go give it a shot now. Specially if you’ve read HP and like it. I swear it’ll be worth it.

Love always,
K.

PS: If you start reading, please ping me and let me know. So I can wait for you to finish it and participate when you freak out over the Incident and discuss Quirrell theories with you.

*fistbump*

Leave a Reply

