A series of disconnected thoughts

  1. Some names are huge. Imagine if you were named Saul Bellow. You would have no choice but to do something amazing. Because you have a name that sounds like a thunderbolt, and anything else would be an anti-climax. Because you’re Saul Fucking Bellow. You can’t possibly be a manufacturing paper clips or some such thing.
  2. I’ve met three old friends over the past four days, and am therefore currently something of an authority on Catching Up. And I decree that Catching Up is Awesome. You should do it more often. I should do it more often. In fact, maybe I’ll do this once a week. Or once in two weeks, at least. Because if ever we were close, there must have been a reason why.
    It’s nice to discover it again.
  3. Two of the three old friends I met now have violins too. They suffer the scorn of this screechy, unforgiving instrument too. I’m not the only one!
    This makes me feel happy, and also slightly encouraged.
  4. The internet is an amazing place. There are far too many reasons why, and I don’t have the time to go into them because it’s past twelve and I need to be up before 7 a.m. tomorrow.
  5. I sleep a lot lesser now than I used to a few months ago. Which is a good thing, because if you’d met me in September you might have mistaken me for a sack of potatoes. I’m not sure if it’s because I no longer need to cope with the daily exhaustion and psychological trauma of a 2 hour commute, or because I’m generally more alive these days. Either way, it makes me feel younger, and healthier, and a little bit more normal.
  6. I really ought to work with libraries somehow. I know it sounds like a dead end deal, but it’s not. I believe that libraries still have considerable potential, and that  a good library system could improve the quality of your life in this shithole of a city. I wish I could figure out a way to do this. Soonly.
  7. I need to do more of the things that I believe in. I’ve started to try.

PS: I don’t have the time to edit or proofread this post. Please skate over any errors on account of it’s past midnight.
PPS: Don’t be fooled by point #1. I have not read any Bellow at all so far. I’ve just started on my first book. I’m just impressed by the name, that’s all.

 

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

Leave a Reply

