Dour and unsunny.

Dear Zonk,

Every once in a while, I make a list of things I ought to do to make myself feel better about Life, The Universe and Everything. I usually wait until I reach a really low point before I begin to make such lists, but sometimes, I start too soon. In the early days of sinking. When I’m still feeling hopeful and grimly determined about turning things around.

Which is how I happened to decide, on the first of January, that  I’m going to have four new songs by March.

January is now almost over and I have several half-songs and intro riffs and random rhyming words lying around. But I don’t have a single finished song and I’m unlikely to make one any time soon. And I definitely won’t come up with four. Because I spend over ten hours a day working, and four hours commuting. I sleep the rest of the time and lie around and watch TV and vegetate and focus on feeling morose and gloomy and dour and unsunny, and honestly, that does count as a valid use of precious spare time. 

And so then I gather my pens and my paper and my blog and my bullets and I make more lists. Of the type that involve money and grudging indulgence and many material things. Because when all else fails, new things cheer me up. 

And so, here’s my list.

  1. A new Calvin tshirt. Size Medium. To replace the size Small that shrank after the first wash.
  2. A membership at this awesome library I found yesterday.

It’s a short list, but it’ll do.

That’s all, folks. Goodnight. Sleep tight. Don’t let the mind rot bite.

Love always,
K.

2 thoughts on “Dour and unsunny.

Leave a Reply

