Violin Shmiolin

I can play a scale now on my violin. It sounds pretty terrible, but I can somewhat play it. You might choose to run out of the room and stuff your fingers in your ears while I play, but yes. I can play it.

I’ve been trying to play the little violin tune in Nick Cave’s ‘Sad Waters’, and it’s getting seriously frustrating. Here’s the deal, Zonk. I have sort of learned how to bow on individual strings without hitting other strings. I get it right about eighty per cent of the time. I’ve heard Sad Waters a gazillion times and I know the violin bit by heart. It’s a lovely tune, but really simple, and I know the notes and I know where they fall on my violin. I can play them pretty easily too.

SO WHY OH WHY DOES IT NOT SOUND BEAUTIFUL LIKE IT DOES IN THE SONG!?

Sucks. I never thought of how hard it would be to learn an instrument that sounds like I’m murdering cats. With the guitar I put in hours of practice. But this makes such horrible sounds it makes me want to cry. Also, it makes my nephew really upset.

All I want to do is to be able to play like this. Why is that so difficult!

I know I’m being unreasonable, Zonk. But really. I need a fast forward button.

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

7 thoughts on “Violin Shmiolin”

      1. If you’re trying Western, then DO NOT WATCH videos of Jascha Heifetz playing, that I’ll guarantee you. Set yourself a target of getting Fioco’s Allegro piece by piece. That’s quite a fun piece to play. If Carnatic, well, that’s an altogether different ball game and I think a teacher would become quite necessary.

  1. You do know that that makes it quite impossible to not watch video of Jascha Heifetz! And I had no intentions of watching anyway. But now I must engage in deep conflict with myself. Damn! :D

Leave a Reply

