No-Computer Day – I

So 2 days ago I wrote a giant post about how computers have ruined my Life, the Universe and Everything. Which makes me think of how dramatic I tend to be in cyberspace. It also makes me think of how I need to read Hitchhiker’s Guide  again, but that is a story for another day. For now, I’m here to give you an update of everything I accomplished on my Muchly-Publicized No-computer Day. Also, capitalizing hyphenated words confuses me. I wonder if I should say No-Computer Day instead of No-computer Day. I considered playing it safe and saying no-computer day, but that’s just a shameful thing to do, so I didn’t do it.

As for staying away from my laptop and the internet for a whole entire day, I nailed it. I did have to go to class in the morning for 2 hours, but that doesn’t count because I’d rather smash all the computers in the world to smithereens than go to class for 2 hours on any given morning. So I went to class, took a bus back home, had lunch and watched some TV. Then I picked my nephew up from the bus-stop, went to my sister’s house, and watched some more TV there. After that, I got back home, and watched even more TV. Till it was time to go swimming. At which point I stopped watching TV, swam on my back because I can, then came back home and read one whole issue of Lonely Planet, thought about how nice it would be if I were the travelling type, had dinner and went to bed early.

So yes, I spent a large part of my much-awaited No-computer Day watching TV. And no, I did not paint or write a song or do anything even slightly productive. I did play my guitar a little.  Twice. But it was really too little to count, so I will be honest with myself and not include it in the list of things I did on No-computer Day. Quite the anti-climax, isn’t it now. I was a little unhappy about it myself, but then I thought about it, and I decided that it was worth it after all.

Here’s the thing, Zonk. When you’re working from home and you have an overactive guilt complex, you are accountable for every minute of your time. It’s part of the reason I’m going to be looking for a job in a month or two: I need to work for other people, so the part of my time that I give to them becomes Their Time. I need to work in Their Time, Zonk, so I can live a little in Mine. The trouble with having 24 whole hours to myself is that I need to work, sleep and slack off in my own time. And that makes me anxious. It makes me work 12 hours at a stretch on some days and too overwhelmed to work on others..and it makes me feel guilty for watching Community. Because there’s a small person in my head with a waistcoat and a watch who keeps telling me that if I’m at my comp and there’s work to do, then I might as well go ahead, not be useless and do it. Someday I’ll find a pill and shrink that person till it’s voice vanishes. And I will be Alice with a one-way ticket to Wonderland and I’ll be in hurry to come back.

On second thought, that has always been a weird story.. and it might freak me out a little.
Oh well.

Long story short, there’s three things you should have figured from reading this post:

  1. No-computer Day turned out to be a No-work Day.
  2. No-work Day is like a holiday, but cooler; it comes in the middle of the week and has rules.
  3. I can swim on my back now.
And now I’m off. I have swimming to do now and work to finish off later and some homework that I don’t much want to do too..Goodbye Zonk, and remember: think thrice and only then hit Enter.
And that, for once, is actually useful Random Advice. *raises eyebrow, and leaves*
2 thoughts on “No-Computer Day – I

  1. Nice statement
    No-computer Day turned out to be a No-work Day.
    No-work Day is like a holiday, but cooler; it comes in the middle of the week and has rules.
    I can swim on my back now.

  2. “I need to work for other people, so the part of my time that I give to them becomes Their Time. I need to work in Their Time, Zonk, so I can live a little in Mine”

    Very wise words, dunno if it’s true but wise.

Leave a Reply

