Cellists

Edit: I swear to god I thought I put this one up many many days ago. But turns out it was still a draft, and I only realized because I came here to see how a blockquote looks on my current theme. I couldn’t find it, and so I checked my drafts and there it was. Cellists. The actual date for the post is September 10; the day I ruined my perfect painting that a single ctrl + Z could have fixed.

________________

I’m reading a book of short stories by Ishiguro called ‘Nocturnes’. Now I haven’t read much of Ishiguro, but from the one book I have read, and from the stories from this one that I’ve read so far, I think I can safely say that Ishiguro is weird. I love it.

Spoiler alert.

This excerpt is from a story called ‘Cellists’, in which a cellist meets a woman who is also a cellist, and a virtuoso. And he’s been taking lessons from her but he’s never really seen her playing. Eventually, she tells him this:

‘The fact that I’ve not yet learned to play the cello does’nt really change anything. You have to understand, I am a virtuoso. But I’m one who’s yet to be unwrapped.’
(Kazuo Ishiguro)

Freak. I suppose I’m a cellist too. And a virtuoso at that.

:D

Leave a Reply

