15 Books

Someone tagged me today in a note that that requires you to write down the names of 15 influential books off the top of your head. Notes of this type intrigue me. I always think I'll give it a shot, but I'm eventually always, always incapable of being neutral. 15 books. Not difficult at all. Except am I supposed to pick random influential books? Or books that influenced me? 1984 is a powerful fucking book. But I don't care personally about it. When I was ten I had a book I'd read at least five times. But no one ever heard of The Mozart Season. The only people who've ever read Fall On Your Knees are those whose throats I forced it down. And I've never read poetry more pure than that. So then I find myself backspacing. And pretty soon I'm cheating. Dance dance dance is #2 on my list but really, calling it influential is a lie unless you're Murakami-obsessed too. Strange, but for an influential writer he seems to have no defined-ly influential books. An Equal Music..I won't even bother to explain, Zonk, I think you've suffered enough through that particular obsession on mine :P Fuck that,I even slipped in Piano. Though I do remember reading influential and Piano in the same sentence sometime somewhere but who knows I could be wrong.

Conclusion: I seem to completely lack the top of my head. So from the core of my being, 15 books that permanently marked me or marred me, more or less in order of importance except for where I'm really confused:
  1. An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  2. The Outsider/Stranger – Albert Camus
  3. Dance Dance Dance – Haruki Murakami
  4. Shadow Lines – Amitav Ghosh
  5. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  6. Damien – Hermann Hesse
  7. Gut Symmetries – Jeanette Winterson
  8. Fall on Your Knees – Ann-Marie MacDonald
  9. The Mozart Season – Virginia Euwer Wolff
  10. God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
  11. To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  12. The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
  13. Miss New York – Lori Jakiela
    Judge me all you want for having chic lit in my Most Influential Books list, but there's more wisdom in that one book than in all Austens put together. (Not that I've read all Austens.) Even now, when I feel really defeated, I ask myself, 'What gives?' When entire books fade from memories and single lines remain and resurface every time something happens, you know how much you owe the author.  
  14. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  15. Every  Pratchett and Douglas Adams I've read.
Of those, I suppose only Huxley I can drop from the list if I had to make it a list where I felt strongly about each item. 
And that, dear Zonk, my pointless exercise for today. It made me wrack my brain and things that make me wrack my brain are more than welcome on days that turn so steadily blue. I think I'll go read another Murakami now. Replacement for music it is most certainly not, but I can make no music while my guitar's away. 
I'm tired, Zonk. Though I've done nothing all day that amounts to anything. Tomorrow I'll work my skinny ass off the orbit I swear. Slap me if I don't, its high time somebody does. 
Goodnight.
  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

