'Most human activities are predicated on the assumption that life goes on. If you take that premise away, what is there left?'

 Haruki Murakami
 (Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of The World)

I've been reading all day, and the book is almost done..I came here just to write that sentence down. I will be back when the last page is done..its been a whole day of not-speaking. Do you know how very difficult is that. 
Wait for me, Ink. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “

  1. Very true. I wonder about that quite often. But I guess if you take the premise that life goes on away I wouldn't do much different, except when I'm at work, (such as now). I don't think I would mind if anything else I was doing was the last thing I did. And if you think about it,a lot of our actions are based on the premise that life will end at some point. But I guess this is kinda out of context with your book and this is your blog so I will save my rambling for somewhere else. This sounds like an interesting book though. I think another friend of mine was telling me about it but I'm not sure if it's the same book. Does he at any point suggest that humanity as a whole is suicidal and working toward its own destruction here?

  2. Really? Hmm.. I think perhaps Some actions are based on that premise..that life will eventually end. But for the most part people act like this will last forever. Day to day existence would be pretty bleak otherwise I think..No hes not talking about humanity as a whole being suicidal..that must be some other book. This IS a very very good book. In fact I think I'm gonna go get another one right now. Lets see.

Leave a Reply

