Paris Hilton’s New BFF

I was switching through channels today morning, looking for one of those infomercial shows, and Lady Luck happened to beam at me like a 100 watt bulb. So guess what's new on reality TV that I didn't know about? Paris Hilton is looking for a new BFF, and turns out she needs to announce it on VH1 in order to have any candidates at all. Works for me. Should work for you too, Monday nights 11p.m., get with it. Sneak Peek into the show–there's a pink and white throne for Paris to sit on, and a bunch of jobless fucks who actually dropped their uneventful yet possibly respectable occupations to kiss Paris Hilton's absent arse all over international television. But please, don't get me wrong, this show is not all fun and games. Could have fooled me, but Paris said so herself in order to clarify things for us undiscerning public. Right after that, she stuck all her hopeful homies on a roller coaster ride in order to check how hot they could look in zero gravity. Sounds trivial I know, I thought so too, but then she elaborated: the paparazzi is everywhere. Phew. I can imagine what it must be like to live under that kind of pressure.

Its really nice that there's this kind of ridiculously mindless entertainment available to us. And really, I'm not being sarcastic. I watch hardly any TV and even I thrive on these shows. I swear to god I'm even gonna put a reminder on my phone to make sure I don't miss a single episode.
But I was talking to my friend's dad today, and he was telling me that now that I'm a graduate, I should decide what I'm going to do with myself once I'm done University hopping. Because in the real world, work will take up the greater part of your day, and if you're stuck in a job you don't like, chances are you'll slit your wrist or breed unhappy and emotionally unstable children. His point was, just make sure you don't drift through life, or you might end up regretting it later.

That's the real world for most of us. And I don't know, but I'm guessing that there's a lot of people walking around with talents that will never see the light of day. Drifters who got lost along the way cleaning sinks or paying their bills. What I'm saying is, there must be a lot of incredible people out there that the spotlight never finds..And in the same exact world there's people who make TV shows about who their new BFF is going to be and whats worse; people actually WANT to be that BFF. And the rest of us watch that show. Hypocrites like me who will rant about each obnoxious episode included. That's an entire Milky Way of spotlights trained on Paris. And nobody knows why, except she's rich and skinny and comes up with really clever catch phrases. That's Hot.
Well you know what, Paris, I'm a skinny chick too. And I'm not too ugly, though of course I'll have to work on that pink thing a bit. Maybe a host of people will die and leave me a large fortune each. Or maybe I'll marry rich. In any case, the minute I get loaded, you watch out cos I'm gonna have my own New BFF show too. Ofcourse if that ever happens I will need one of you to get a gun and shoot me in the face and you'll be my BFF for having done me the favour of saving me from my own bile.

Whatever the fuck. I'm sorry about the tone. I really am. But its been a long day and I'm not feeling too swell and I have no idea who to talk to about it. Of course, there's also the point that I don't want to talk about it in the first place. Why bring it up then? Search me.

Goodnight. See you when I see you.

~
  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Author: Kirtana K

I paint and make music and blog like a maniac. These days I try to run. But I have chicken legs and lungs the size of two-rupee balloons. I fail. I like pajamas and striped socks and books that read like song and songs that sound like poetry and strangers who read this page. And Maggi when I'm sick or cold or sad or celebrating. They'll find noodles in my veins if ever they cut me open. And potatoes. And maybe a tiny bit of whiskey. I'll be an Unidentified Living Object and they'll put my insides on display. It will be crazy. It will be awesome. It will.

Leave a Reply

